Friday, 1 June 2007

Radio Websites Links June 2007


Links for the websites mentioned in Chrissy Brand’s Radio Websites column (June 2007) in Radio User, Britain’s best radio listeners' magazine: http://www.radiouser.co.uk/

June 2007
10 Gold: http://www.radio1008.nl/

The Radio Netherlands’ Media Network: http://blogs.rnw.nl/medianetwork/

Bill Winchester in Eastbourne suggests the following websites which he found when he downloaded Internet Explorer 7 a while back: http://www.bostonpete.com/

There are of course, many other links to golden oldies Internet radio. Try some of these out: http://www.goldenoldiesforever.com/gof7.htm

Some current favourites of mine, covering music old and modern, include obscure 1960s music at Jangle Radio: http://www.live365.com/stations/bgspradlin4

Spectropop's Girl Pop with sixties girl groups at: http://www.live365.com/stations/bgspradlin2

Mandarin radio- http://www.live365.com/stations/mandarinradio

Mediterranean Folk, which emanates from a station in Houston, Texas: http://www.live365.com/stations/mediterranean_folk

Summer Festivals 2007
Starting in Manchester, and there is a visually exciting website at: www.visitmanchester.com/podcast

Manchester festival from 28 June to 15 July: http://www.visitmanchester.com/

Manchester Jazz Festival: http://www.manchesterjazz.com/

Radio Glastonbury will be on 106 MHz FM: http://www.glastonburyfm.co.uk/

Myspace page for the station at: http://www.myspace.com/glastonburyfm

Radio Avalon: http://www.glastonburyfestivals.co.uk/

Antigua Carnival: http://www.antiguacarnival.com/calendar2007.html

Observer Radio 91.1 FM at: http://www.antiguaobserver.com/

A full list of Antigua radio can be found at: http://radiostationworld.com/Locations/Antigua/radio_websites.asp

The Quebec summer festival review at the Travel Lady website: http://www.travellady.com/articles/article-Quebec.htm

Details of the festival are at: http://www.festival-ete-quebec.qc.ca/

Check out Rythme FM: http://www.rythmefm.com/

Galaxie radio for festival starters: http://www.galaxie.ca/

Japan too has a Summersonic rock festival at: http://www.summersonic.com/index.html

The most bizarre festivals of the summer appear to be taking place in Finland. There is a full list at: http://www.europeetravel.com/articles/finland-festivals.htm

Just to give you a feel for some of them, there are the hay mowing world championships on 1 July:

http://www.liminka.fi/-the scary sounding Witch Trials from 5-9 July:

http://www.ruovesi.fi/
-and the world mobile phone throwing championship on 19 August:

http://www.savonlinnafestivals.com/
If you don’t believe me then check out the video footage, photos and results from previous years’ events, at the English language website:

http://www.savonlinnafestivals.com/en_index.htm


National broadcaster YLE Radio Finland’s website should provide some coverage: www.yle.fi/rfinland/and then

http://lotta.yle.fi/radio.nsf/sivut/etusivu
There is also an entertaining English speaking podcast which goes under the label of Radio Free Finland, at: http://www.radiofreefinland.net/

The Association of Finnish Broadcasters: http://www.radioliitto.fi/asp/system/empty.asp?P=130&VID=default&SID=524998266458267&S=1&C=24213

Wikipedia
has some good links to media in the country including an English news video bulletin: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/YLE

No comments:

EDXC Conference 2018 Bratislava, 31 August - 3 September

Chrissy at Scandinavian Weekend Radio in Virrat, Finland,  during the EDXC 2017 post-conference road trip. I'm not as active at ...